Week 4 – Mexican Tortilla Casserole

photo 4

Another great and eventful week.  This weekend we were in Chicago for a friend’s wedding.  It was pretty cool because I had know both of them before they started dating and got to see the relationship develop from the beginning.  It was the first wedding I’ve been to that I didn’t know if I should go to the bride or groom’s side, but thankfully another friend was an usher and picked for us when he led us to our seats.  We had SO much fun.  The wedding ceremony was Friday at the church I went to in Chicago and then the reception was at a restaurant downtown and on the river.  It was a gorgeous day and it was so fun to catch up with old friends from my gospel community (small group) in Chicago.  And it was our first wedding attending where I couldn’t catch the bouquet and introduced Matt to people as “my husband, Matt.”  Weird.  In a good way.

We also had the chance to catch up with a bunch of other friends.  On Friday we had lunch with a few of my old coworkers.  I haven’t seen a lot of them since moving so that was fun.  Also, a friend from high school is living in Chicago for the summer so we had dinner with her on Saturday.  And there were a couple other people from my GC who had also moved away, but also happened to be in Chicago this weekend so we got to catch up with them at church.  We did a lot of eating our Chicago favorite foods and spent a lot of time walking through my old neighborhood and favorite places.  It’s crazy how much changes in a year.  I kept saying “that place wasn’t here before” and “That’s new!”  We finished the weekend with a cubs game after church, grabbed some DQ with my old roommate (an old Sunday tradition) and saw another friends new condo.  So much fun, I love Chicago so much.

Now we’re at the airport waiting for our late flight out.  Waking up tomorrow is not going to be fun, but I get to take the silver line to work for the first time ever (it opened yesterday) so I’m pretty sure that excitement will carry me through.

Our new recipe for this week was another keeper.  I’d do a couple things differently when we make it again, it was a little more watery than expected.  But that also could be because I have extra tomatoes that I chopped up and added in addition to the can of tomatoes the recipe calls for.  We were going out of town and I didn’t want them to go to waste!  And I might not have drained the diced tomatoes.  We also tried a couple other recipes that came in the newsletter from fresh stop – scalloped potatoes and pear crisp.  They were fine but nothing remarkable so recipes are not included, just pictures!

Skinny Mexican Tortilla Casserole (recipe adapted from here)

Ingredients

  • ½ lb lean ground turkey
  • 1 cup onions, chopped
  • ½ tsp garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp ground cumin
  • 15 oz can black beans, drained + rinsed
  • 10 oz can Diced Tomatoes, drained
  • 1 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • ½ cup yellow corn, if canned, drain + rinse
  • ¼ cup low-fat cottage cheese
  • ¼ tsp garlic powder
  • 4 – 9″ Tortillas
  • 10 oz can red enchilada sauce
  • ½ – 1 cup reduced-fat, shredded cheddar cheese

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Coat a 9 inch square baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  3. In a large nonstick pan, cook the ground turkey, onions, garlic, chili powder and cumin over medium-high heat until onions are tender and turkey is no longer pink.
  4. Stir in black beans and Rotel® and mix well. Remove from heat and set aside.
  5. In a small bowl, stir together sour cream, corn, cottage cheese and garlic powder.
  6. Place 2 tortillas overlapping on the bottom of pan.
  7. Top with half the turkey mixture, half the sour cream mixture and half the enchilada sauce. Repeat layers.
  8. Bake covered for 30-35 minutes until heated through.
  9. Remove from oven and sprinkle cheese evenly over the top of the casserole.
  10. Bake uncovered for about 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  11. Remove from oven and let sit for about 10 minutes to set.

 photo 1 photo 2photo 3

Potatoes and Cobbler:

photo 4 (1) photo 3 (1) photo 1 (1)

Leave a Reply

