Scotcheroos!

These bars are one of my all time favorites!  My college friend Kirsten would always make them, or share the ones her mom would send in care packages and I was hooked.  They had them as a dessert at my friend Hannah’s wedding and I’m embarrassed at how many I ate!  After college I went through withdrawal after a few years and when I realized that I’m capable of making things myself, I just asked Kirsten for the recipe.  So glad I did that, because these are SO good!  We bust these out occasionally when we need a sugar high and want to feed a larger group.  This weekend we brought these (along with the cowboy caviar) to our friend Stefan’s party.  It’s a recipe we need to bring to a large gathering, because if left to eat it all on our own, we will go through it too soon and get severe stomach aches!

Scotcheroos

For the Bars:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup light karo syrup
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 5 1/2 cups Rice Krispies (we used the Trader Joe’s brand and it was fine)

For the Icing:

  • 1 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/4 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:

  1. Start with a large pot (will need to hold krsipies too).  Melt the sugar and syrup together.
  2. Stir over heat and take off heat as edged start to boil.
  3. Stir in the peanut butter.
  4. Add Rice Krispies.
  5. Place into a 9×13 pan (no need to grease).
  6. Melt chocolate chips together, stir, and frost the krispies.
  7. Let frosting harden before enjoying.

IMG_5067

Leave a Reply

