“Aunt Lisa’s Brownies” (Double Chocolate Fantasy Bars)

I don’t know where time goes, it’s going to be August this weekend! Yikes!  Life has been busy, per usual.  Last week I flew to California for work, I was there for approximately 21 hours.  Flew right to Syracuse from there, spent the weekend with the fam (my brother and his fiance were home for a friend’s wedding), and then drove back to DC with Matt on Sunday so the studying could continue!  Test is on Wednesday and I hope to report back about a preliminary passing score next time a recipe goes up! They give you a preliminary score right away (thank God for computer based testing), and then you get your official score 3 weeks later.  I’m told it’s highly unlikely that it will change from the preliminary one, especially if the preliminary score says pass.

These brownies are DELICIOUS!  I made them for a BBQ a while back (I think it was the Fourth of July, but I’m not at all behind on here…).  They’ve always been a hit and this was no different.  They’re also seriously addicting, so consider yourself warned!  They’re called Aunt Lisa’s Brownies to me because my Aunt Lisa made them for the first time back when I was in high school, when she sent me the recipe I saw that it was actually called ‘Double Chocolate Fantasy Bars,’ but they’ll always be Aunt Lisa’s Brownies to me.  Hope you enjoy as much as we do!

Aunt Lisa’s Brownies

Makes: 24+

Ingredients

  • 1 Box of Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chopped nuts (optional)
  • 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 6 oz pkg semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ – ¾ cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a large mixer bowl, beat cake mix, oil, and egg on medium speed until crumbly. Add nuts, if using (I don’t).
  3. Reserve 1 ½ cups crumb mixture. Press the remainder on to the bottom of a greased 9 x 13 pan.
  4. In a small saucepan, combine the 6 oz chocolate, 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk, and 1 tsp vanilla.
  5. Over medium heat, cook and stir until chips melt.
  6. Pour evenly over prepared crust. Top with reserved crumb mixture, then top with mini chocolate chips.
  7. Bake 20-25 minutes or until bubbly.
  8. Cool, cut into bars, and enjoy!

IMG_5077

Leave a Reply

