Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle

Happy Labor Day weekend!  I’m looking forward to the year where I don’t have to work on Labor Day…but until then, we’re making the most of it!  I took today off from busy season because it’s Matt’s birthday!!  We had a really great day.  Went for a walk and got coffee and our favorite bagels this morning (birthday bagels).  Then we had people over this afternoon for pizza, food, and hanging out.  Despite several of our friends being out of town for labor day, a lot of people came and it was so good to hang out with old friends (3 of Matt’s college friends live in the area) and new friends!  Afterwards we just took it easy, which was really nice after a pretty crazy week.  Such a solid weekend so far.  Good is good, life is good, everything is great!

For the birthday celebration I made a couple of desserts – Cookie Cake and Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle.  I’ll spare you the cookie cake recipe, it’s literally a half batch of chocolate chip cookies, cooked in a quiche dish, and then I decorated it:

IMG_5328

The chocolate peanut butter truffle is always a hit.  My mom use to make this and Matt loved it from his first bite, so she’s passed the recipe along to me (and many others).  I hope you enjoy it too!

(We made a couple of new dinner recipes this week but they weren’t spectacular so I won’t be posting those, hopefully we’ll find some more winners soon!)

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle

Serves: 10-12

Ingredients

  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • 2 pkgs instant vanilla pudding
  • 1 ¾ cups milk (2% or whole)
  • 12 oz cool whip
  • 1 box brownie mix
  • 2 eggs (for brownie mix)
  • Canola oil (for brownies)
  • 6+ Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (frozen)

Directions:

  1. Bake brownies according to package instructions, let cool.
  2. Cut brownies into small (1” or smaller) squares. (I always cut off the edges before doing this.  I say it’s to make the pieces in the dessert less chewey, and because it’s what my mom did.  But it’s mostly because I love brownie edges and I get to eat them myself this way)
  3. Melt ½ cup peanut butter
  4. Mix 2 pkgs instant vanilla pudding with 1 ¾ cups milk, until thickened
  5. Mix peanut butter into pudding mixture
  6. Fold pudding mixture into 12 oz cool whip. This makes a “peanut butter mousse”
  7. Chop frozen Reese’s into small pieces.
  8. In a larger bowl, or trifle dish, layer brownie, pudding mixture, chopped Reese’s, and repeat.
  9. Enjoy!

IMG_5331

Leave a Reply

